TNPL Winners | Tamil Nadu Premier League Winners

TNPL Winners | Tamil Nadu Premier League Winners:- The Tamil Nadu Premier League is a professional T20 cricket league in Tamil Nadu. TNPL was formed in 2016 by the Tamil Nadu Cricket Association. TNPL is contested during June and July of every year by eight teams representing eight different districts in Tamil Nadu. The first season of TNPL inaugurated by MS Dhoni and was won by Tuti Patriots. There have been four seasons of the Tamil Nadu Premier League. Chepauk Super Gillies is also the most successful team in TNPL. TNPL 2020 Schedule


TNPL Winners | Tamil Nadu Premier League Winners

Season Winner Winning margin Runner up Venue
2016 Tuti Patriots Won by 122 runs Chepauk Super Gillies M. A. Chidambaram Stadium, Chennai
2017 Chepauk Super Gillies Won by 6 wickets Tuti Patriots M. A. Chidambaram Stadium, Chennai
2018 Siechem Madurai Panthers Won by 7 wickets Dindigul Dragons M. A. Chidambaram Stadium, Chennai
2019 Chepauk Super Gillies Won by 12 runs Dindigul Dragons M. A. Chidambaram Stadium, Chennai


TNPL Prize Money

  • Champions – ₹1 crore (US$140,000)
  • Runner up – ₹60 lakh (US$84,000)
  • Two semi-finalists – ₹40 lakh (US$56,000) each
  • Remaining participants – ₹25 lakh (US$35,000)


TNPL Teams

  • Chepauk Super Gillies
  • Lyca Kovai Kings
  • Dindigul Dragons
  • Trichy Warriors
  • iDream Tiruppur Tamizhans (formerly Karaikudi Kaalai)
  • Siechem Madurai Panthers
  • Salem Spartans (formerly Tuti Patriots)
  • V. B. Kanchi Veerans


TNPL Venues

Two new venues in Coimbatore and Salem are slated to host TNPL matches from 2020 onwards. The Chennai venue will not host matches in the upcoming season.

  • M. A. Chidambaram Stadium
  • Sri Ramakrishna Institution Cricket Ground
  • NPR College Ground
  • Indian Cement Company Ground (ICL Sankar Nagar Cricket Ground)
  • Salem Cricket Foundation Stadium


In 2016, the TNPL was launched by then TNCA president N. Srinivasan, who is also the owner of CSK and TNPL’s initial title sponsor, India Cements.

The first edition of the Tamil Nadu Premier League featured popular players like Ravichandran Ashwin, Murali Vijay, Dinesh Karthik. Robin Singh and Michael Bevan were appointed as coaches. Star Sports were the TV broadcasters for Tamil Nadu Premier League.


Tournament Format

The 8 teams play against each other in the league phase in a round-robin format. The top 4 teams in the points table will qualify for the playoffs. Much like the IPL, Tamil Nadu Premier League playoffs comprises of three matches before the final: one eliminator and two qualifiers.


Sponsorship and revenues

The business model followed by Tamil Nadu Premier League is similar to IPL’s model. For the first 5 years, central rights (broadcast fees and sponsorship fees) will be shared 80 percent among the 8 franchises with the rest going to the administrator TNCA. To attract sponsors, owners were advised to name their teams after districts in Tamil Nadu.

Star Sports will broadcasts the matches in Star Sports 1 and Star Sports 1 HD with English commentary and in Star Sports Tamil with Tamil commentary. Online streaming available on Hotstar.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *